Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

Failure at 40,000 Feet

Authors’ Note: Welcome to another fabulous Fic-mas celebration. For the next twelve days you can expect a daily story in The Arbitratus Universe. Each story will feature a winter holiday theme. But don’t get too comfortable. We love to shake up tradition. Have fun and let us know what you think! Today’s story features an […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

School

Author’s note – I’ve been playing around with some little one word prompts over on our Instagram. For those of you that don’t goof off over on IG, I figured I’d share the little flash fan fictions for our Arbitratus Trilogy characters here. Here’s a little imagined scene from our Work In Progress (which is […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Child of the Air

Author’s Note – Today’s flash fiction challenge was to write about an extinct flower that somehow blooms for the first time in a hundred years. Of course I couldn’t help putting an apocalyptic spin on a little floral fiasco. ~ J   It seemed like such a good idea, you know? Just grow this seed […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Pool Shark

  There’s something in the water. The thought came with such easy certainty, Roz almost laughed. When she was small she wouldn’t even go in the pool because Sean had told her the pool sharks would eat her. Home from college on summer break, he’d given her shit about it at the breakfast table this […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Peace Is A Lie

I really didn’t want to wake up. Well, that actually sounds kind of ominous. I didn’t want to wake up until I’d slept off the hangover I knew was coming my way. But wake up I did. Only to find my head trapped in some, hot, steamy hell of a head covering. I could feel […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Shaken By A Strong Wind

The dream had been plaguing me for days. I’d go to bed determined that this night would be different, that I’d break the cycle. But I couldn’t.   I should have paid more attention to what the dream was trying to tell me.   I’m in bed, and at first, I think I’m just waking […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Third Day of Fic-mas …

Ghosts of Yuletide Past Aife made her way silently down the stone path leading to her family home. She couldn’t stop smiling. It felt like she’d been away forever. The chance to see them all again was such a precious gift. She could hardly credit the peace and contentment that had settled into her chest […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Merry Fic-mas Eve!

It’s that time of year again. Our favorite holiday tradition is here. Can you call something you’ve only done once before a tradition? Sure. Why not? We had so much fun challenging ourselves with last year’s Twelve Days of Fic-mas, we decided to make it a thing. Which as our favorite Time Lord will tell […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized

Bad Dreams

Author’s Note – I couldn’t sleep the other night and I wound up writing fanfic for my own characters. In case anyone’s been missing them, I decided to share it. ~ J Ben sighed quietly and rolled over onto his side with deliberate care. His breathing was finally returning to normal, his preternaturally sharp vision […]