Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Features Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

Every Time A Bell Rings

Authors’ Note – All I can do to introduce this one is to quote Doctor Who. “There is, surprisingly, always hope.” Every Time a Bell Rings The angel sat on the first park bench he came to with a heavy sigh.  “Want to talk about it?” He looked up with a start. He’d been so […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Features Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

For Two Cents

Authors’ Note: If you’ve been with us for any amount of time, you already know Aife. If you don’t she’s another demon in The Arbitratus Universe who is better than her supernatural nature. This story takes place during the holidays at the same time as the events of Always Darkest. You can read more about […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Taste of Fear

Author’s Note – This is another little fiction from a one word prompt over on Instagram. The word was taste. I saw a lot of responses that were either foodie or sexy. And I was tempted. But Ben was feeling chatty. He shared a dream with me. He does that. Let’s me have his nightmares […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Please

Author’s Note – Here’s another little scene that doesn’t physically appear in The Arbitratus Trilogy, but it could. It fits into Always Darkest, or Before the Dawn. Mal spends a lot of time worrying about Ben, about their future. This is just a moment of real vulnerability that she tries to keep to herself.  Mal […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Book News Short Fiction Sneak Peeks Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Opening Gambit

Author’s Note – The challenge in my writing group today was “An encounter with a deity.” That’s so close to what we write for the series, it seemed like an ideal opportunity to give readers a little preview of Before the Dawn, Book II in The Arbitratus. We are very close to finishing and I’m […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Third Day of Fic-mas …

Ghosts of Yuletide Past Aife made her way silently down the stone path leading to her family home. She couldn’t stop smiling. It felt like she’d been away forever. The chance to see them all again was such a precious gift. She could hardly credit the peace and contentment that had settled into her chest […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The First Day of Fic-mas …

  A Case of the Mondays The light respectful tapping at his door sounded of potentially broken monotony. With a deep relieved breath, Ronoven called out, “Enter!” Gareth, his most trusted servant, bowed as he entered the office, careful not to knock over any of the man-sized stacks of forms, advertising the office’s location in […]