Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Sixth Day of Fic-mas

The Christmas That Wasn’t Authors’ Note – Another title for this story could be Why Boston Is A Big Deal: The Sequel to the Second Day of Fic-mas 2018. Another tale of friendship, of the holiday, and of why revenge is a dish best served cold. To your boss. By making him wear a Santa […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Fifth Day of Fic-mas …

Christmas Miracles Authors’ note – What kind of Demons Run Fic-mas would it be without a recipe to warm you up in the cold? Hopefully this one will be good for your heart and your stomach.   “Okay, Kelly, you ready?” Teddy asked, grinning at the way his little brother was dancing from foot to […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Fourth Day of Fic-mas …

Ain’t No Party Like … Skipping the Party Authors’ Note – If you’re already a reader of Always Darkest, or even last year’s Fic-mas stories, you’ve met Petra. She’s never had a story all her own though, and we decided it was time. She’s pretty important in the sequel. If you haven’t yet been introduced […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Third Day of Fic-mas …

Ghosts of Yuletide Past Aife made her way silently down the stone path leading to her family home. She couldn’t stop smiling. It felt like she’d been away forever. The chance to see them all again was such a precious gift. She could hardly credit the peace and contentment that had settled into her chest […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Merry Fic-mas Eve!

It’s that time of year again. Our favorite holiday tradition is here. Can you call something you’ve only done once before a tradition? Sure. Why not? We had so much fun challenging ourselves with last year’s Twelve Days of Fic-mas, we decided to make it a thing. Which as our favorite Time Lord will tell […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized

Bad Dreams

Author’s Note – I couldn’t sleep the other night and I wound up writing fanfic for my own characters. In case anyone’s been missing them, I decided to share it. ~ J Ben sighed quietly and rolled over onto his side with deliberate care. His breathing was finally returning to normal, his preternaturally sharp vision […]

Categories
Book News Uncategorized

Book Talk Radio Interview

Check out our latest interview with Claire Perkins of Book Talk Radio!   Book Talk Radio Interview – Jess & Keith Flaherty on Their Book Always Darkest

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Mirror ~ J

I’m at my desk, obsessively proofreading, like any other morning. I notice I’ve accidentally used ‘their’ instead of ‘they’re’. Hell and damn. I guess that’s what you get for writing half asleep. I reach for my mouse to eradicate this grammatical travesty, instead coffee sloshes on my hand. “Huh.” It’s a surprised sort of sound. […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Short Fiction Uncategorized

Something’s Gotta Give (A Demonic Short Story) Available Now!

  $0.99 on Kindle or for Free on Kindle Unlimited. An assignment in Hollywood? That sounds like Paradise … Ronoven should have known better. In Hell, nothing was ever as easy as it sounded. Take a trip above, they said. Use your human name. Go around as Ben again if you want. Collect a movie star’s soul. It’ll be easy, they said. And he bought it. Hook. Line. And sinker. Then he met her. An innocent; caught up in her own pain, in the whirlwind fame of Hollywood’s heyday. He couldn’t save her life, but if he was willing to play the odds, he might just be able to save her soul. Ben had always been a gambling man. Something’s Gotta Give – Available now. http://mybook.to/somethingsgottagive