Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Features Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

For Two Cents

Authors’ Note: If you’ve been with us for any amount of time, you already know Aife. If you don’t she’s another demon in The Arbitratus Universe who is better than her supernatural nature. This story takes place during the holidays at the same time as the events of Always Darkest. You can read more about […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fan Fic For Fun Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Please

Author’s Note – Here’s another little scene that doesn’t physically appear in The Arbitratus Trilogy, but it could. It fits into Always Darkest, or Before the Dawn. Mal spends a lot of time worrying about Ben, about their future. This is just a moment of real vulnerability that she tries to keep to herself.  Mal […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Child of the Air

Author’s Note – Today’s flash fiction challenge was to write about an extinct flower that somehow blooms for the first time in a hundred years. Of course I couldn’t help putting an apocalyptic spin on a little floral fiasco. ~ J   It seemed like such a good idea, you know? Just grow this seed […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Pool Shark

  There’s something in the water. The thought came with such easy certainty, Roz almost laughed. When she was small she wouldn’t even go in the pool because Sean had told her the pool sharks would eat her. Home from college on summer break, he’d given her shit about it at the breakfast table this […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Peace Is A Lie

I really didn’t want to wake up. Well, that actually sounds kind of ominous. I didn’t want to wake up until I’d slept off the hangover I knew was coming my way. But wake up I did. Only to find my head trapped in some, hot, steamy hell of a head covering. I could feel […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Shaken By A Strong Wind

The dream had been plaguing me for days. I’d go to bed determined that this night would be different, that I’d break the cycle. But I couldn’t.   I should have paid more attention to what the dream was trying to tell me.   I’m in bed, and at first, I think I’m just waking […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Third Day of Fic-mas …

Ghosts of Yuletide Past Aife made her way silently down the stone path leading to her family home. She couldn’t stop smiling. It felt like she’d been away forever. The chance to see them all again was such a precious gift. She could hardly credit the peace and contentment that had settled into her chest […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The First Day of Fic-mas …

  A Case of the Mondays The light respectful tapping at his door sounded of potentially broken monotony. With a deep relieved breath, Ronoven called out, “Enter!” Gareth, his most trusted servant, bowed as he entered the office, careful not to knock over any of the man-sized stacks of forms, advertising the office’s location in […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Merry Fic-mas Eve!

It’s that time of year again. Our favorite holiday tradition is here. Can you call something you’ve only done once before a tradition? Sure. Why not? We had so much fun challenging ourselves with last year’s Twelve Days of Fic-mas, we decided to make it a thing. Which as our favorite Time Lord will tell […]