Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Features Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

Self-Possessed

Authors’ Note: Readers of this blog should remember Caleb Saint-Claire from tales of Fic-mas past. If you’re new to The Arbitratus Universe, Caleb is a member of the Order of the Temple of Solomon, or Knights Templar. In this world, the Templars are kind of like supernatural secret agents. And Caleb is their James Bond. […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized

Failure at 40,000 Feet

Authors’ Note: Welcome to another fabulous Fic-mas celebration. For the next twelve days you can expect a daily story in The Arbitratus Universe. Each story will feature a winter holiday theme. But don’t get too comfortable. We love to shake up tradition. Have fun and let us know what you think! Today’s story features an […]

Categories
Book News Excerpts Sneak Peeks Uncategorized

It’s a Celebration!

“It was strange being surrounded by the glory of Heaven, knowing you had nothing, but trying to hang onto it anyway.” ~ From Always Darkest It’s a special day for Demons Run Lit. Always Darkest is having a birthday! You can visit our social media to enter to win a signed copy, here: Demons Run Lit […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Shaken By A Strong Wind

The dream had been plaguing me for days. I’d go to bed determined that this night would be different, that I’d break the cycle. But I couldn’t.   I should have paid more attention to what the dream was trying to tell me.   I’m in bed, and at first, I think I’m just waking […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Eleventh Day of Fic-mas …

For Auld Lang Syne “Looks like I win by default.” The tall figure dressed in a simple, yet elegant, black tunic with subtle dark red piping, smiled. The sunrise flooding the glade with color seemed to reflect and dance in his eyes. To say he was handsome, or even pretty would be a gross understatement. […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Third Day of Fic-mas …

Ghosts of Yuletide Past Aife made her way silently down the stone path leading to her family home. She couldn’t stop smiling. It felt like she’d been away forever. The chance to see them all again was such a precious gift. She could hardly credit the peace and contentment that had settled into her chest […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Merry Fic-mas Eve!

It’s that time of year again. Our favorite holiday tradition is here. Can you call something you’ve only done once before a tradition? Sure. Why not? We had so much fun challenging ourselves with last year’s Twelve Days of Fic-mas, we decided to make it a thing. Which as our favorite Time Lord will tell […]

Categories
Book News Uncategorized

Book Talk Radio Interview

Check out our latest interview with Claire Perkins of Book Talk Radio!   Book Talk Radio Interview – Jess & Keith Flaherty on Their Book Always Darkest

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Mirror ~ J

I’m at my desk, obsessively proofreading, like any other morning. I notice I’ve accidentally used ‘their’ instead of ‘they’re’. Hell and damn. I guess that’s what you get for writing half asleep. I reach for my mouse to eradicate this grammatical travesty, instead coffee sloshes on my hand. “Huh.” It’s a surprised sort of sound. […]