Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Shaken By A Strong Wind

The dream had been plaguing me for days. I’d go to bed determined that this night would be different, that I’d break the cycle. But I couldn’t.   I should have paid more attention to what the dream was trying to tell me.   I’m in bed, and at first, I think I’m just waking […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Fic-mas Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Second Day of Fic-mas …

Eat, Drink, and Be Miserable   Author’s Note: For readers of Always Darkest, in case you were wondering why Ben couldn’t spent Christmas Eve with Mal, this ought to clear things up. For those of you new to our universe, this is what happens when Hell throws a holiday office party. “Ben! You made it!” […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Mirror ~ J

I’m at my desk, obsessively proofreading, like any other morning. I notice I’ve accidentally used ‘their’ instead of ‘they’re’. Hell and damn. I guess that’s what you get for writing half asleep. I reach for my mouse to eradicate this grammatical travesty, instead coffee sloshes on my hand. “Huh.” It’s a surprised sort of sound. […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

The Fall of Terra By Jess & Keith Flaherty

Eyes downcast, hands folded, she always acted like a piece of furniture unless summoned. But that didn’t mean she wasn’t busy. When Master Den mentioned Kapteyn-6 she took an almost motionless step forward, seeming only to fidget as she adjusted the recording devices hidden in her prosthetic arm. She wasn’t worried anyone would notice. She […]

Categories
Arbitratus Short Fiction Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Detour

Another fun little writing prompt that got thrown out there in a group I’m part of and unsurprisingly I immediately thought of our own Ben Brody. – ~ J A character of your choice walks in a city familiar to them. It is the dead of night. They witness a brutal mugging, featuring a nasty […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized Writing Challenges

Search and Rescue

Author’s note: Prompt in a writing challenge I’m doing – “Imagine that you are unable to leave the room that you’re in for the next 7 days. Chronicle each of the seven days using only 50 words each.” That sounded boring, so I went fictional. ~ J Day One Don’t know what happened. Maybe an […]

Categories
Short Fiction Uncategorized

On the fourth day of Fic-mas, we look to the new year, and find something not quite new to fear …

Out With The Old “Mikey, I said no more cookies,” Mary Davies called out to her son, who was in the kitchen, ostensibly to get the wine glasses for the table. “Um … Sorry!” drifted back through the swinging door. “Were those sleigh bells I heard in there,” her husband Clark asked with a smile, […]

Categories
Excerpts Short Fiction Uncategorized

The Velvet Dark

All alone.
Waiting.
For The Velvet Dark.

Categories
Short Fiction Writing Challenges

July 8, 2016 ~ JF

“Imagine that you are unable to leave the room that you’re in for the next 7 days. Chronicle each of the seven days using only 50 words each.” Day One Don’t know what happened. Maybe an earthquake or a bomb. I remember a loud noise and then jolting, slipping. If anyone else is still alive […]